By
Alexis Davis
|
October 21, 2020

Citizen's Guide to Amendment 2: Raising Floridaʼs Minimum Wage

Citizen's Guide to Amendment 2: Raising Floridaʼs Minimum Wage

Amendment 2 seeks to gradually increase the state minimum wage from $8.56 to $15 per hour by 2026 ($11.98 for tipped employees). It would be adjusted annually based on inflation.

The Florida Legislature has never raised the minimum wage — the last wage bump from $5.15 to $6.15 was the result of a similar citizens’ ballot initiative 15 years ago.

Florida’s current system has long-failed to keep up with the state’s rising cost of living, so this boost would bring employees closer to a living wage.

Downloadable Resources

There are no attachments currently.